img_1716

Above is where I decided to do my readings for the week: Workshop Coffee near Oxford Street. Reading with a cup of tea really is the best, isn’t it?

“All Woman” by Courttia Newland exemplified an intriguing use of language in order to represent and define the main character. I particularly enjoy stories written like this, because it forces the reader to comprehend and understand rather than just have everything handed to them on a platter. By writing in colloquial language, Newland really gave me a sense of the character, and the rest of the characters like Sianna, Simon, and Marcia. This type of characterization really brought me into the narrator’s mind, made me read each word carefully to make sure I understood everything. Not only did Newland demonstrate unique characterization, but she highlighted language that I might have not otherwise been exposed to.

In this extract of “Hangover Square,” I really enjoyed the depth in which Netta was described by the narrator. In particular I liked the line, “Netta Longdon thought of everything in a curiously dull, brutish way” (124). By going into the details that Hamilton does, a clear portrait of Netta is painted, and it’s almost like a painting. Except, this is elevated, because he goes onto describe her quirks, her actions, turning the vivid picture into a moving image. By pointing out certain, seemingly insignificant details, it creates a more realistic, well-rounded and tangible character.

I find myself drawn to character driven stories. I like character development and I like getting attached to characters that feel real to me. Though each of these stories were short, they delivered a strong sense of character, allowing me to know them rather than just read about the events in their lives. A story without an interesting character and an interesting plot is hardly a story that can truly inspire and captivate a reader. If as humans we are emotional beings, we need other people, characters, to latch onto. A realistic, well defined character lets us experience a plot side by side rather than just as a bystander.

 

 

 

 

 

 

