IMG_0343

Conclusion: Everything in England is OLD

When deciding to come to England to study abroad, I made a firm point to spend much of my travel time visiting cities and towns around England specifically. I came to this decision on the basis that I’m not sure when I’ll be able to visit various cities in England again. Sure, if I want to take a week long visit to Berlin in the future, I’m sure I’ll be able to do that, so if I don’t get to visit Berlin for a weekend while I’m studying abroad, it’s no sweat off my back. However, I don’t know if I’ll be able to go to say, Cambridge or Bath in the future, as they’re more suited for weekend or day trips. (At least for me they are).

So to Bath for a day it was! And boy what a beautiful day!

Well, of course it was gray and rainy, but as my friend from Norwich said, “you get what’s on the tin with England,” so I’ve come to accept that the rainy days will outnumber the sunny ones by quite a bit. I didn’t let the rain spoil my Bath trip, however.

What’s so incredibly mind-boggling to me is the sheer insanity that baths used by the Romans are still standing and technically functional today. I tried to imagine them walking on the same ground that I did, and easily found an existential crisis coming on. Often I find that I’m so wrapped up in myself and the present that I forget there’s millions of years of humans that came before me. And what’s more is that humans have only existed for the smallest fraction of the Earth’s history! I try not to spend too much time on it unless it’s 2 in the morning. (Which is the appropriate time for having a crisis, really.)

I don’t find it so useful to recount in a blog what I did by the time in Bath, as that’s not entirely entertaining for anyone who isn’t me, who experienced those things. We have photographs for that. I wanted to reflect and write about the things Bath made me feel, which is something my photographs couldn’t convey. How can you get an existential crisis from a photo of green water? I bet you didn’t. But now you know.

Bath is old. England is old. The world is so OLD.

 

 

 

